12 Jan

The World is your Kaleidoscope

The world is your kaleidoscope, and the varying combinations of colours, which at every succeeding moment it presents to you, are the exquisitely adjusted pictures of your ever-moving thoughts.  – James Allen, As a Man Thinketh

I like using the metaphor of a kaleidoscope to think about museums.  The image inside a kaleidoscope is ever-changing just as each visit to a museum and interaction with an object is different.  My past experiences, prior knowledge, social environment, and a limitless set of other elements culminate at each moment to affect the way I interpret the environment and the objects in front of me.

Visiting the Washington Monument and the MLK Memorial today with my fellow classmates brought this idea to light.  This visit to the Washington Monument was certainly different from the visit I had with my parents when I was little.  And the experience each of my classmates had today was each…

View original post 209 more words

Leave a Reply

